How do I become a Realtor in North Carolina?

How To Obtain a Real Estate License in North Carolina 

**Information taken directly from 

 North Carolina is a “broker license only” state, meaning that there is only one basic type of license – a broker license.  The entry-level license is called a Provisional Broker. 

 LICENSE QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS To qualify for an individual real estate broker license, an applicant must:  

1) Be at least 18 years of age;  

2) Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S. and be authorized to work in the U.S. in the real estate brokerage field. [Note: A holder of a U.S. Permanent Resident Card (“Green Card”) is a “qualified alien.” Work authorization in the U.S. for most other aliens requires a U.S. immigration visa (rather than a visitor visa) and/or an Employment Authorization Document from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service that permits work in the real estate brokerage field.] 

3) Have a Social Security Number;  

4) Satisfy one of the Education Qualification Options listed below;  

5) File a complete application and fee;  

6) Pass the two-part real estate license examination;  

7) Satisfy the Commission that the applicant possesses the requisite character for licensure. 



License applicants must complete the 75-hour North Carolina Broker Pre-licensing Course at a North Carolina school approved by the Commission or possess education and/or real estate experience the Commission finds equivalent to such course. (Prices vary.  Approximate cost is $389-450.  Textbooks extra at some schools) 



1. Successfully complete the 75-hour North Carolina Broker Pre-licensing Course or one of the other Education Qualification Options.  

2. Submit a complete license application, including appropriate fee and all required documentation. ($100 application fee) 

 3. Your application is processed by Commission staff.  

4. Unless you are exempt from the license examination, you are sent a Notice of Exam Eligibility within 2-3 days after application receipt and acceptance.  

5. You contact the testing service to pay the examination fee and to schedule and take the license examination.  ($64 testing fee) 

6. If you PASS the license examination (or if you are exempt from the license examination requirement based on Education Qualification Option #4): • If there are no issues relating to character, your license will be promptly issued and should be received in the mail within 7-10 days of the examination date. • If there is an issue relating to character, your application will be reviewed by Commission staff and may be referred to the Commission for further consideration. This process may become quite lengthy. (See Consideration of Applicant’s Character.) OR If you FAIL the license examination, you may reschedule and retake the examination (as described under The License Examination). Please note that the $100 application fee PLUS the $64 examination fee will be collected each time an applicant takes one or both sections of the license examination. 

Post a Comment